American Program

The intent of the Religious Awards programs for Girl Scouts and Cub Scouts/Boy Scouts in the United States is to assist the Scouts in growing stronger in their faith. The programs intent is NOT to learn about faiths other than ones own faith. Therefore the Friends/ Quaker awards programs found on this page are to be used by Scouts who are members or regular attenders of a Monthly Meeting or Friends Church.

The American Religious Awards program is organized by Boy Scouts of America and Girl Scouts USA although the specific award requirements for Quaker Girl Scouts and Cub Scout/Boy Scouts are set by FCS.

The program consists of two progressive awards:

  • That of God Award, which is for Young Friends in the second to fifth grades.  Although intended for this age group, first graders may also attempt the award if appropriate.
  • Spirit of Truth Award, which is for Young Friends in the sixth to twelfth grades and Venture Scouts.

Participants must be members of Boy Scouts of America, Girl Scouts USA while being members or attenders of a Monthly Meeting or Friends Church. This includes active participation in the life of the Meeting or Church, regular attendance for worship and, if applicable, business meetings, as well as First Day or Sunday School or religious education at a Quaker school.

The program materials can be downloaded here:

That of God Award Program     Spirit of Truth Award Program
That of God Application      Spirit of Truth Application

A Spanish-language version of the program is also available upon request. Please email the clerk.

Price & Contact Details

Effective June 11, 2016: Order your US Program youth awards directly from Friends Committee on Scouting. “That of God” award is $20 including postage. “Spirit of Truth” award is $25 including postage. Currently checks and money orders are accepted, made payable to ‘Friends Committee on Scouting.’ Mail application and payment to: Friends Committee on Scouting, 7140 East Buddy Lane, Camby, IN 46113. Applications will be processed and sent out within two business days. Questions – email the Clerk at: [email protected]


The two awards are slightly different but both incorporate an eight-pointed star, known as the Quaker Star, with a scriptural quotation central to Quaker belief: “A light that shines in the dark”.  The red and black Quaker star dates back to the work of British Friends during the Franco-Prussian War of 1872.  It has, since that time, been associated with Quaker relief service worldwide. The quotation comes from the first chapter of the Gospel of John, fifth verse.  It refers to the light of God that shines in all humanity.